Music to My Ears

April 6, 2022

speakeasy concert

This is Ha Vay. I went to Kiss Kiss Bang Bang in Koreatown in Los Angeles for Breaking Sound, which is an emerging band showcase that happens every week. It's a night I can't delete from my phone. You walk in through the LED covered door to see neon lights and a light up dancefloor. The bar is straight ahead. Chairs and booths are to your left and right behind the plain wood dancefloor. The stage is to your right and you came alone. You get an old fashioned at the bar because you have no other knowledge of drinks and you wanted to feel the drink in your system to fight off the anxiety of being alone. You notice others are alone too but refuse to approach them. It wasn't until I started chewing on the ice from the empty drink in my hand and repositioning myself after putting the glass back on the bar did I realize someone might have been looking at me. There was this woman, who was standing near me in the beginning and leaning on the rail but then found herself sitting in a chair near the middle of the venue after having a few drinks, that approached and started talking to me. She was really cool and invited me to dance. She knew Bella DeNapoli and I think we were dancing to her songs or to Kurman. It was one of those movie moments where you have no idea how to dance but you're doing it and doing it in front of all of the people you were silently being awkward around. The dancing subsided and we were both just enjoying the music. She was so comfortable talking to all of the artists and getting engaged with them. This one dude started talking to her and her group joined the two of us. She said that Kurman was a cutie, but based on my reaction to that, she said I also was a cutie. That was nice of her. So now we're in this group going to the afterparty that was just next door through this vending machine. It was a speakeasy if that wasn't clear. It turned out to be really weird in there. Most of the people seemed to have been from some other event or were there for this cover band. This one lady asked our group if we wanted to all pitch in $50 each for karaoke but we said no. The guys in the group were nice. They were from Chicago and were visiting Los Angeles. Everyone then leaves and I walk the woman to her car. I took the train the wrong direction and then just call an Uber home because it was getting weirdly late at night in Los Angeles.

doubled image of Carmen Perry from Remember Sports

July 8 2023

I bought tickets for this concert many many months ahead of time because I was so surprised that they were touring. I was browsing Bottom of the Hill's calendar because it was my only pastime being alone in this new city. I purchased 2 (two) tickets thinking I'd invite someone else or I'd have to try to ask someone else to go with me. My one friend couldn't make it because they were out of town, so I asked my brother. I know what you're thinking now. He's not totally alone in this new city BUT he is alone in the sense of not having made many friends out here. My brother and I went out to Spark Social to eat and we started talking to this group of people that wanted to share our big table. We had such a pleasurable conversation with this group and then started our journey to Bottom of the Hill. I had a few drinks before Remember Sports went on. I was feeling those anxious exciting butterflies in my stomach as they trickled onto the stage. I felt so warm and got chills listening to the songs I've heard a few hundred times. I was screaming the songs I knew. My brother probably thought I was crazy. I think he was enjoying it. This dude next to us was also yelling the lyrics to the songs out so we started yelling them at each other. We were basically the mosh pit. We were screaming and dancing to these songs that don't even call for that. We were having a time. I lost my voice by the end of it all. A dude outside asked if my brother and I wanted a picture together on my 35mm point and shoot camera and we said yes. I do Remember Sports after all this time.

2015

One of the first concerts I ever thought about was one I never went to. It was 2015. I was in concert band class at 8am. My friend at the time was way more outgoing than I and had been going to Warped Tour and other cool Southern California concerts in her life. She knew I was kinda into Tyler, The Creator and got us tickets to one of his shows. I remember vividly looking at the paper ticket sitting in our concert band seats and being excited. Or maybe she was showing me the tickets because we both weren't able to go and it was our little goodbye to them. What could've been.

January 20 + 21 2023

I went to the Homesick Festival at The UC Theatre in 2023. The first day was interesting because I drove straight from work to my uncle's place. There was nothing interesting about the drive itself or my work for that matter, but I was parking on this slight incline and just barely tapped the front of my uncle's prius. I rang the doorbell and admitted to what I did and he said it was okay. He said his daughter had done much worse to the car while learning to the drive so that was kind of comforting. He then was able to drop me off at The UC Theatre since he was going to meet his friends for a drink in Oakland. So, now I'm at the venue. Showed up way too early. I got a drink and sat against the wall on the floor right at the front. I like to lean on walls and posts at concerts like they're my friend. It also keeps my standing for longer. The first few bands were cool I just had no idea who anyone was besides Snail Mail. Actually I did happen to know Fiddlehead, but that was night 2. Anyways, I made a friend Sage there and they were really chill. They liked to hang out in the back and vibe. They also recommended me starting my social media over with only the people I actually talk to. In a way, they inspired me to write about concerts as they said they go to a lot of concerts and they have kept track of all of them starting from the earliest days when you would have to go to concerts with family because you were a literal child not able to fight off raging dudes. They also like Radiohead so they're automatically so cool. They also play the guitar so we talked about music in that sense too. They also have a very unique voice that I found pleasant. I think they were the only person I talked to those two nights besides the bartenders and maybe some people to my left at some point during one of those two days but I don't remember what anyone was talking about. Basically, what I'm trying to say is that they made the concert experience more of an interaction because I wasn't just standing around watching entertainment. I was there with a new friend I made and we were enjoing conversation and music. I hope they're shredding the days away.

April 27, 2022

matt at concert

My friend, Matthew, and I had planned on going to a Snail Mail concert on April 12, 2021 at The Glass House in Pomona. I was still in Pomona at the time for college and Matthew, not Matt, was going to drive out to see it with me. He had not been to many concerts besides ones with his cousins and I wanted him to get out there and hear what he was needing to hear (live music not my voice). I just finished at the dentist and was in my blistering hot car still parked near the dentist when I called Matthew to see if I should get tickets for Snail Mail. I got both tickets. It was a little uncertain as to us going together since it was further in the future than we'd hoped. We both kind of forgot about the concert. I forget how I got to his place. I must have taken the bus to UCLA and then found Matthew at his,now ex, girlfriend's place. Maybe I drove and parked there while Matthew drove us to the concert. Also, Matthew was kind of sick. He would not stop coughing. It didn't bother me but it did bother Matthew. So we're driving and talking about our lives. He finds parking near the Hollywood Palladium. Now we're waiting in line. We were observing the crowd we were about to enter the building with. There was a person in front of us with a Blues Clues button up shirt. Indie crowd. Then my friend Kira appears and we hug and say hi. At this point in my life, I had barely talked to Kira in my illustrator class. We knew who each other was and we both knew Camille. So now Matthew and I are getting inside the venue. We both get a drink. Matthew was nervous. I think about him coughing. The music starts. The openers were cool. The Goon Sax. They disbanded almost immediately after this tour. Lindsey then goes on with her new Fender Jazzmaster. We find Kira and we are singing our hearts out. I had the best time. I was singing the songs I knew. I strengthened a friendship with someone. I brought my friend to a concert. I remember being so into the music like I was fully there, even though I did have a drink or two. The concert was great. Matthew and I get nashville style chicken afterwards. Handsome Man by Wednesday came on while he was playing music and Matthew didn't like it. I liked it as I still remember that name and that moment. Matthew was tired. It was a time.

March 17, 2023

concert view from the back

My dad was visiting during this time of my life and I realized I didn't have anyone accompany me to a local concert. I built up the courage to ask my dad if he wanted to come with since I knew he had nothing else to do. We spent time on Haight not purchasing anything until getting to Bizza and ordering a CBR sandwich. We did the thing. We got to the event way too early. We both got a drink to tame our anxiety. My dad said he hadn't been to a concert since he went to a world-renowned artist's tour (AC/DC, Zeppelin, etc. since he was into that type of rock growing up and didn't go to small concerts like this). We were at Milk Bar. I went to see Ha Vay since I had been consistently listening and attending their local shows. The show was actually just the singer of Ha Vay since they got picked up to open last minute and there isn't much space in this small back section of a bar. The acoustic set was nice and intimate. My dad was acting normal and was genuinely curious at this show. He took a picture during their set. He was moving around to see past the tall people to take it all in. He was blending in with the crowd. Not acting like a parent with a bunch of questions or passive mentions of things they didn't like. He mentioned how he was the oldest person there, but there were other parents there acting chill. He was convinced he could hang with me, or at least people close to my age. I think he was joking about this but he kept telling his brother that statement. His brother was concerned he was serious about that statement. After the show, it felt good to be outside at night and to bring my dad out to something that I'd usually do on my own.

October 28 and 29, 2017

ferris wheel view

ferris wheel friend

Camp Flog Gnaw 2017. I was finally able to go to this festival after being old enough and having just enough money to go. I got my friend and I VIP passes for the two days. We got the whole package with shoes and all.

July 9, 2022

getty concert outdoors

Los Retros. At The Getty. My friend Kyubin had just started to drive and had been driving us every time we hung out. We went to hit some balls at the driving range once. Of course we're put next to the cutest girl who is an experienced golfer. I make a fool out of myself by using a hybrid on the tee, when you can just use a hybrid on the mat. She pointed that out and my face got red. My friend also told me that and now I was feeling defeated. She eventually leaves and the pressure dissipates. Kyubin and I have a good time still. We went to The Getty for this free Los Retros concert. We walked around The Getty and kinda criticized the art. I don't think I understand art enough to appreciate it, but it was still cool to look at before we had a concert to attend to. I was trying to say "listen to music" in sign language to pass the time. I looked up other words on my phone to teach Kyubin. I remember being hungry or maybe that's just me now at 12:33am on 12/10/2023. Kyubin and I always reflect on our pasts that have overlapped. He definitely understands me and knows how to approach talking to me. I haven't talked to him in almost a year. He doesn't like texting and calling only happens when I can text him. I also didn't want to burden him with my recent problematic situations that lead me to calling whenever I feel weird, which is most times of the day. We've been through tough times after only knowing each other for a short period of time. I hope to see him the next time I'm in town. I hope to talk to him before then.

December 7, 2023

sticky note touche in concert

Touche Amore. I first learned of this band from my friend Gabe at work. I was playing The Strokes on our free Spotify on this old iPhone 5 and I must have said something basic like, "I love The Strokes", and then he talks to me about them and this one band and then writes on a sticky note the band and The Strokes cover song. Guess what it was. The note is from February 9, 2023 around 12:17pm. I immediately like the song and almost drove to Los Angeles just to see this band, but decided the drive was not worth it on a Friday night with work on the following Monday. So fast forward to some time probably enough time to forget about this band until I get an ad for them touring with Deafheaven for a 10 year anniversary thing. I buy a ticket immediately. Now we're at the concert. I'm standing on the metal barricade where the sound and visual guy is doing his thing at The Regency and stay there the entire concert. This was a Thursday. The opener was cool they're called Crushed. Then they go on. They went. They did. Hearing the controlled screaming from that distance was still so comforting. I was smiling the entire time. I could feel it in my face more than I could feel the beer entering my bloodstream. I was sad when it ended. It felt like 2 seconds but they were probably on for an hour. They didn't play The Strokes cover but they did play songs I knew. I'm glad Gabe talked to me that February 9th.

December 18, 2023
molly
kerri
sheridan

The Republik. Hawaii. I just started following people around the area since I had passed this building multiple times not knowing that the third floor entrance was through this alley and up some stairs. I was on a call with my friend and took her with me on the walk to the venue. I feel bad I kinda had to end the conversation since I got to the venue a little early and she was telling me her life story. I'll talk to her later though so it should be okay. Now we're at The Republik. I go get myself and my friend (a different friend) a shirt and then wrapped them through my belt so I didn't have to hold them. I got a beer and walked around to see what concerts in Hawaii would be like. I didn't talk to anyone there. Beer was only $8. The opening band had this guy in an interesting animal suit as the hype-man. Then came the beautiful moment we were all waiting for. The sound of Molly's voice entering the Hawaii air. The joy that rushed into my smile was unreal. I was dancing around and singing every song. I couldn't hear myself singing but I only really needed to hear the band so it was okay. I took some pictures with some dubble film and only got a few shots in focus. I took pictures and videos with my phone too, so not all hope in remembering the Alvvays songs live was lost. Alvvays live. At the end, I found someone who got a setlist so I took a picture of it. I also found a Hawaii ID on the floor. I tried identifying this white woman with my slightly intoxicated eyes but it was no use. I handed it to bartender. I wish I remembered the persons name. Lauren maybe or Erin. I got another picture at the merchandise table of the tip jar. The phrase on the tip jar seems like a cool thing to get tattooed to remember Alvvays. Living and breathing Alvvays at their last show of this tour was amazing. I'm glad my impulsive behavior led me somewhere I could enjoy myself. Alvvays will remember this time. Or the band Alvvays won't remember this time since it was my person experience I was referring to, but you get the pun. Alvvays. Alvvays.

October 6, 2023

I was planning on getting to The Fillmore late. I left work and went straight there, expecting there to not be a line down Geary wrapping around Steiner. I wasn't sure what to make of this long line as I had listened to like 1 Buckethead song prior. I just knew he could shred and wanted to experience it. So now I'm talking to the guy in front of me, who drove from San Diego, and realize he's a super-fan. Then the guy behind us is friendly and enters the conversation. Omar is his name and he was really nice. He knew a bunch about Buckethead and helped inform me about the lore. Same with the guy in front of us. I learned about the toys Buckethead gives out at a certain point of his set. Random toys like fast food restaurant ones or shoots and ladders. They were also going to hand out posters at the end. Omar was very much a real person and we talked about life over a beer before the concert started. So now it's happening. He was out there just going off with a backing track. He played for hours, mostly shredding too. I really need a better word for shredding because it's starting to sound not right in my head. Anyways, I think I finally understand the power of music after hearing him tell his stories through that one guitar of his. I definitely told my friends that this was one of my favorite concerts ever. The magical bucket covering this man's head never came off. I also did not want to leave this man's noggin.